In Texas, it is legal to carry a firearm in your car as long as you are not a felon and the gun is not in plain view. If you are stopped by police, you must inform them that you have a gun in the car. You can transport your gun to and from shooting ranges, competitions, and hunting trips, but you cannot bring it into a building or workplace.
Advance Tips: How You Can Carry a Firearm in a Car in Texas
- Choose the right type of gun for your needs
- If you are planning on using the gun for self-defense, choose a handgun that you can easily conceal on your body
- If you are just carrying the gun for hunting or target practice, any type of rifle or shotgun will do
- Make sure that the gun is unloaded before putting it in your car
- It is also important to keep the ammunition separate from the gun so that it cannot be accidentally discharged
- Store the gun in a safe place inside your car where it cannot be reached by children or anyone else who should not have access to it
- A good place to store a handgun is in a holster that can be attached to the inside of your car door or underneath your seat
Carrying a Handgun in Your Vehicle: Texas Gun Laws Explained
Can You Carry a Firearm in Your Car in Texas
Yes, you can carry a firearm in your car in Texas. There are some restrictions, however. For example, you cannot carry a concealed weapon in your car unless you have a valid concealed handgun license (CHL).
Additionally, if you are stopped by law enforcement for a traffic violation, the officer may ask to see your CHL and will likely confiscate any firearms in plain view. If you are found to be carrying a concealed weapon without a CHL, you could be charged with a misdemeanor.
You Cannot Carry a Handgun in Your Car If You are Not Licensed to Do So
If you are not licensed to carry a handgun in your car, you cannot do so. It is against the law to carry a handgun in your car without a license, and if you are caught doing so, you could face serious penalties. If you are found carrying a handgun in your car without a license, you could be charged with a felony and fined up to $5,000.
If You are Carrying a Long Gun, It Must Be Unloaded And Not Easily Accessible
If you are carrying a long gun, it must be unloaded and not easily accessible. Long guns include rifles and shotguns. Carrying a long gun in your vehicle is only allowed if it is unloaded and not easily accessible to anyone inside the vehicle.
This means that the long gun must be stored in a case that is not easily opened or accessed by anyone in the vehicle. If you are stopped by police while carrying a long gun in your vehicle, they may ask to see your firearms license and register the firearm with local police.
Can You Carry a Gun in Your Car in Texas at 18
In Texas, you must be 21 years old to apply for a License To Carry (LTC). However, if you are 18 years of age or older, you may apply for an LTC if you are:
-A member or veteran of the United States Armed Forces, the Texas National Guard, or the reserves of any branch of the armed forces;
-A member or veteran of the Texas State Guard;
-An officer or employee of a penal institution in this state;
-A security officer licensed under Chapter 1702, Occupations Code; or
-A federal court judge.
Yes, with a few conditions. You can have a firearm in your car in Texas as long as it is: unloaded and out of reach of the driver or any passengers, not in plain view, and if you are carrying a CHL, the gun must be concealed. If you are stopped by law enforcement and they see a gun in your car, they may ask you to step out of the vehicle so that they can check to make sure the gun is unloaded and not accessible to anyone inside the car.